Been to Landek, been to Ostrava
Landek is located in Ostrava-Petřkovice, about 1.5 km from D1 motorway exit and 5 km from the Ostrava city centre (GPS 49°51'59.461"N, 18°15'41.181"E). It is easily accessible by public transport (towards Hlučín, Hornické muzeum stop).
The height of the Landek hill itself (from German Land-Ecke = nook of land) is mere 280 m above seal level. It is a globally famous location from the point of view of geology, archaeology, history, natural science and mining studies. The combination of a mining museum as a technological monument and the Landek hill as a national natural monument with its rich flora and fauna adds uniqueness and attraction to the area. On the south-eastern slope of the Landek hill, with its natural science and mining educative trail, there is a unique geological cross section with layers of the carbon type coal which originated 250 million years ago and which surface through numerous coal seam exits. In 1993 Landek was declared National Natural Monument. In the immediate vicinity of Landek there is the confluence of the Odra and Ostravice rivers.
The first settlements and first use of coal in the Landek area date back to about 30 thousand years ago. In 1953 the world-famous Venus of Petřkovice or Landek was found here. It is a 46-mm female torso, carved out of haematite. It is the only slim venus in Europe. Its historical value compares to the value of a slightly more famous Venus of Vestonice.
Coal was first mined at Landek more than 200 years ago. It is said black coal mining in Ostravsko began here.
At present Landek connects directly to LANDEK PARK – a 35-ha area with the largest mining museum in the Czech Republic and a sports and recreation area with a camp and catering facilities. The premises have been serving as a suburban recreational zone for a number of years now.